300 Words


I’ve decided to go with favorite place because justifying my favorite person would require more than just 300 words. And my favorite thing changes every few days.

My favorite place….Virginia Beach/Norfolk, VA. After going through a rough ending to a seven year marriage, I decided to completely start over. Just so happened my brother and his wife lived in that area and they offered me a place to stay until I got my mind straightened out and help me get back on my own two feet. I remember the day I left out for Virginia Beach. It was Easter Sunday in March. Snow was still on the ground at home and another cold winter storm was creeping up the steps, adding more misery to my already cloudy mind. But things had to start looking up and I hoped and prayed endlessly that it would be soon. It would be a long ride to Virginia Beach…eight and a half hours. Eight and a half hours of driving, thinking, anger…….and loneliness. As strange as it may seem though, the eight and a half hour drive passed by just as quickly as the white lines on the interstate. The road sign just ahead said Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel: 5 miles. The tunnel was longer than any I had ever been in. And then….I saw it. The light at the end of the tunnel. As I came out of the tunnel the skies were blue and the sun beamed through the windshield of my old GrandAm. I saw the bay on my right and left. So much excitement and optimism and hope immediately filled my heart and soul. For the first time in months I smiled. I would make many new friends and experience many new things while I was there. And above all, it allowed me to start over. Virginia Beach/Norfolk will forever be embedded deep in my heart for the opportunity it held for me.

About chuggathought

Just an ordinary blue collar guy that's full of thoughts and ideas. Current college student, majoring in Information Systems Technology (programming). I'm set to graduate in May of 2016. Love baseball, football, odd ball facts and figures, photography, music, researching/reading about alternative cancer cures. Was once engaged to the most beautiful woman I've ever known.
This entry was posted in Adulthood, Daily Prompt, Post a Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

