Laid off…or Vacation?


I got laid off from my construction job last Friday November the 16th. And to be honest….I welcomed it.

 

It came as no surprise to me. The company I worked for was almost finished with the three year long road widening project here in my neck of the woods. All that remains is a little more paving and touch up work on the concrete structures. When a project gets that close to being finished, layoffs are inevitable. I knew it would be just a matter of time before I got that pink slip, that same pink slip that 35 others dreadfully received last month. Most of those 35 were shocked, angry, and upset.

Not me. I very much welcomed it. But before anyone draws any conclusions about me, let me explain…I’ve had one vacation in the past seven years and only two vacations in the past nine years. I’ve averaged working between 50-65 hours a week during these times and many times I’ve worked 80 hours or more in a week. I very rarely ever call in sick or take a day off. I’ve battled torrential downpours, blizzards, sub-zero temperatures, and record breaking heat.

 

1027111719

I’ve sloshed around in mud up to my knees, and snow up to my waist.

 

 

pulling drill steel

I’ve wrestled around with 400 pound joints of drill steel for hours upon hours.

 

 

IMG00062-20120319-1057

I’ve carried dynamite, caps, and boosters up and down cliffs and mountains from sunrise til sunset. I’ve shoveled enough rocks and dirt to build the Empire State Building from the ground up.

 

 

1116111121a

I’ve put together so much gas line that I could easily do it while I’m asleep.

 

 

2012-10-03_08-59-33_823

I’ve pushed, pulled, and tugged on multi-ton concrete structures until my body can take it no more.

 

This is what I’ve been doing day in and day out for at least the past nine years. I need a break. My body needs a break. So this layoff, to me, is a very much needed break.

My only problem with the lay off is what will I do with all this free time? I’ve already taken care of a few projects that needed to be done. I fixed my PlayStation 3. Did tune-ups on my computer and my parents computers. Signed up for unemployment benefits. Started on my Christmas shopping (which should be finished in a couple of weeks).

Speaking of Christmas shopping, I did buy myself a little something to help me kill all this free time I have. I bought Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 which came with Adobe Premiere Elements 11 and I also bought a Canon EOS Rebel T3i from Amazon. The Canon is supposed to be here tomorrow. If anyone has any techniques or tips that they wouldn’t mind sharing I would be forever grateful.

About chuggathought

Just an ordinary blue collar guy that's full of thoughts and ideas. Current college student, majoring in Information Systems Technology (programming). I'm set to graduate in May of 2016. Love baseball, football, odd ball facts and figures, photography, music, researching/reading about alternative cancer cures. Was once engaged to the most beautiful woman I've ever known.
This entry was posted in Adulthood, Careers, Life, Post a Day, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Laid off…or Vacation?

  1. I’m inspired by your optimism. After reading how much time you spent at work and hardly a vacation time, I agree, this is that perfect moment to have fun, explore, embrace adventures. For photos, I simply use my iPhone camera with camera + app. I’m still studying my Nikon 1J 1 but have a long way to go. Goodluck my friend. You have the perfect attitude we all can learn from. Have a great Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you very much for the kind words. I’m not entirely sure I call it 100% optimism…I’ve always been blessed with the ability to accept things no matter how good or bad they are and that no matter what it is, it serves a purpose. Sometimes we don’t know what that purpose is until later on down the road. And I’ve always had the ability to make lemonade when life hands out lemons lol.

      As for the camera…I still haven’t received it yet. Most of the photos I post on here come
      from my old fried Blackberry smartphone or my old Hewlett Packard Photosmart M22 point and shoot camera that I’ve had since 2005. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours as well.

  2. nonehpets says:

    I welcome finding someone else who sees, what for others is disaster, in a similar light to me … in my case not a holiday (I am working on creating a social enterprise that lets me be me and work the way I choose) but certainly the break I needed from where I was. Have fun with the camera and the software – my only tips? practice – lots of it! and take pictures of whatever interests you -technique you can learn and adapt as you go along. When you are editing in Elements work on copies until you are happy with the controls,

  3. Thanks for stopping by!
    I have been blessed with patience and the ability to take whatever life hands me…most of the time lol. My family has no idea how I acquired that trait.
    I’ve been practicing with the Elements PhotoShop…it’s gonna take me a little while to completely learn it. I watched some videos of other people using that program and they make it look so simple and easy.

  4. eof737 says:

    Wishing you all the best for your future plans. 😉

Leave a Reply

